Categories
My Life!

Major Problems and a New T-Shirt

Heyo! I have been thinking, I haven’t had lots of time to read books lately because so much is happening for me. So, I thought what would be better than just telling you guys about what’s going on and letting you in on the action!

Back in February, I had my whole next school year planned out. My plan was to go to a Christian college up in Chicago and work towards a Master’s degree in Psychology. This was all in the hopes of being a trauma therapist for young children and teens. Unfortunately, the college fell through because as I continued to look at the program, there didn’t seem to be a firm stance on homosexuality and the LGBTQ+ movement. If there isn’t a stance, then the stance is not good. I emailed the head of the department and she gave me one of those really vague answers. So, I’m not going. For some, this may seem a bit silly. It’s not that big of a deal! Yeah, it is. As I continued to think about all of this, I realized I may deal with some serious issues. As the LGBTQ+ movement spreads into everything, that means there will be more pressure on me as a therapist to encourage some kid to “discover their sexuality.” I don’t want to! All of this has spiraled into me doubting all of my plans! I considered doing something else in the psych department such as criminology but I thought more on that and I don’t think that’ll be for me for a couple of complex reasons. Here’s the bottom line though, anything I do is going to get political. Why? Well, I can’t cave when I think something is wrong. I can’t just give in and say things are fine so as not to rock the boat. If I were a therapist being pressured into asking about a child’s sexuality I wouldn’t have a problem saying: “Yeah, that’s absolutely not happening.” Especially if a young child was involved.

Considering all of this, I am looking into a career in politics. That could be commentating, hosting a podcast, or working on a news station. If I want to do that, I may get a major in graphic design or media writing. I’m not quite sure yet and it’s still rolling around inside. We’ll see as the weeks unfold!

On a whole other note, today I got a new T-shirt! I ordered it off of NF’s website and waited about 20 days. In case you don’t know, NF is an American rapper who is just released his mixtape titled Clouds: The Mixtape and it’s a winner! I love close to every song he releases because he does such a good job being a Christian within the mainstream music and entertainment business. It can be heavy and dramatic, but I enjoy that style of music. Would highly recommend literally anyone give NF a listen.

Well guys, I’ll call it here. I’m excited to give this style of blogging a try! Shout out to Jarilissima’s blog (jarilissima.com) for inspiring me to try this!

By Kaylee Sergeant

College student who likes books, need I say more?

Leave a comment